Violent Crime Lawyer in Frisco
Being charged with a violent crime is an extremely serious matter that could change the course of your entire life. In Texas, prosecutors try to maximize sentencing for all those charged with violent crimes, but they must prove charges beyond a reasonable doubt. Seasoned Frisco violent crime lawyer Andrew Peveto works aggressively to boost the chances of reducing or dropping the charges. Do not answer any questions from the police before obtaining legal counsel.
Various offenses fall under the “violent crimes” category. These include:
- Child abuse
- Domestic violence
- Hate crimes
- Sexual assault
- Terroristic threats
Violent Crime Penalties
Anyone convicted of a violent crime could face years of incarceration and thousands of dollars in fines. Those are the only the most obvious penalties. Depending on the circumstances, other penalties, direct or indirect, may include:
- Loss of child custody
- Loss of firearms
- Payment of restitution
- Inability to hold certain jobs
- Inability to obtain educational financial aid
- Inability to qualify for some forms of government assistance
Frisco Domestic Violence Lawyer
Under Texas law, domestic violence consists of causing bodily injury to someone in a domestic situation, threatening to cause such harm, or any type of physical contact another person finds offensive.
Besides spouses, domestic violence charges may apply to situations involving those in dating relationships, relatives, or those residing in the same household. Penalties run the gamut according to the nature of the offense, from a Class C misdemeanor which can land a person in jail for up to one year, to a first-degree felony, which can mean a prison sentence ranging from five to 99 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
In addition, persons convicted of domestic violence in Texas may lose their right to possess firearms for up to five years after their release from incarceration or community service.
Keep in mind that even if your spouse or other alleged victim decides they want to drop the charges, it is no longer within his or her ability to do so. Only the prosecutor’s office can decide whether or not to drop the charges in a domestic violence case.
What to Do After a Violent Crime Arrest
If you or a loved one are charged with a violent crime, you have the right to speak with an attorney. As soon as you have hired legal representation, your lawyer can begin the investigation of your case and determine a legal strategy. While each case is unique, possible defenses in violent crime situations may include self-defense, defense of property – if using force to protect the home or property – or lack of mental state.
Contact a Frisco Violent Crime Lawyer
If you are charged with a violent crime in the Dallas Fort Worth area, you need the best legal defense possible. That is why it is imperative to contact a violent crime lawyer at Peveto Law immediately. Call us today or contact us online to schedule a complimentary consultation. We make sure you understand the charges against you, your rights, and options for your defense.
Disarm Domestic Violence Texas
Texas PENAL CODE, TITLE 7. OFFENSES AGAINST PROPERTY, CHAPTER 28. ARSON, CRIMINAL MISCHIEF, AND OTHER PROPERTY DAMAGE OR DESTRUCTION