Collin County DWI Attorney
You may be surprised to learn that you could be legally considered “intoxicated” for having just a few drinks.
BAC Track uses this real-world example: Bill (215 pounds), Raymond (175 pounds), and Suzie (150 pounds) go out for two slices of pizza, 1 beer, and 2 glasses of Pinot Noir on a Saturday night. After 90 minutes, they take professional-grade Breathalyzer tests. Bill and Raymond measure under the legal limit at 0.047 and 0.064% respectively, but Suzie measures 0.097% and could get busted for a DWI.
A Collin County DWI attorney at Peveto Law can help you understand the law if you’ve been involved in a traffic stop or car accident after a night of fun.
Do You Need A Collin County DWI Attorney?
Here are a few facts about getting behind the wheel after drinking:
- The legal limit in Texas is 0.08 percent for drivers over 21 years old.
- Texas has a zero tolerance policy for drivers under age 21.
- Your blood alcohol content can be tested within 15 minutes of sipping alcohol.
- A person’s BAC depends upon age, gender, weight, and the amount of time elapsed.
While you can attempt to represent yourself in court, it’s always better to contact a Collin County DWI attorney, best rated,if you can find one to take your case. An experienced defense attorney can help reduce the consequences you face by lowering the class of crime or, in some cases, a lawyer can get the charges outright dismissed by arguing lack of or illegally obtained evidence.
The Penalties for DWI in Collin County, Texas
The penalties are very serious, and it costs you nothing for a free consultation with a lawyer, seeking advice.
DWI Collin County, Texas penalties are as follows:
- First Offense (<0.15 BAC) – 3 – 180 days in County Jail; Fine up to $2,000; Suspension 90-365 days.
- First Offense (>0.15 BAC) – Up to 1 year in County Jail; Fine up to $4,000; Suspension 90-365 days.
- Second Offense – 30 days – 1 year in County Jail; Fine up to $4,000; Suspension 180 days – 2 years.
- Third Offense – 2-10 years State Imprisonment; Fine up to $10,000; Suspension 180 day to 2 years.
- Intoxication Manslaughter – 2-20 years State Imprisonment; Fine up to $10,000.
Collin County DWI penalties increase:
- With an open container in the vehicle — At least six days in jail, even for a low-level first offense.
- With a child under 15 in the vehicle – 180 days to 2 years of State Imprisonment and fines up to $10K.
- When you’re operating the vehicle “as a deadly weapon” – Fines increase up to $10,000.
Collin County DWI Convictions Limit Your Freedom
Additional penalties you may not have considered include:
- A criminal record, visible to all future employers who check.
- Forced installation of interlock ignition device on your vehicle.
- Loss of the right to drive (particularly among minors or multiple offenders).
- Mandatory community service, education courses, and probation.
- The inability to possess a firearm (for a felony conviction).
- Significant increase of your annual driver’s insurance costs.
- The inability to visit countries like Canada, Mexico, China, Japan, Australia, Malaysia, UAE, and Iran.
A Collin County DWI Lawyer Can Help You Through Probation
You may think you “got off easy” with probation, but we can assure you, it is not easy. Having a Collin County DWI lawyer can make all the difference in the severity of your probation sentence.
The definition of “probation” is “a suspension of a sentence of jail, a fine, or a driver’s license suspension” – not necessarily all three. So, you could still end up serving 120 days in county jail, even if you’ve been granted probation.
In a common scenario, the judge will sentence a defendant to 180 days in jail, a $2,000 fine, and a one-year driver’s license suspension. The judge may then declare that the jail time, $1,500 of the fine, and the license suspension is “probated for one year.” This means that the defendant will not serve jail time or suffer a license suspension, and will only owe $500 of the fine, after a year IF there are no subsequent offenses and you agree to “behave.”
Positive probation behavior expected by the courts may include:
- Reporting to a probation officer at least once a month.
- Paying a monthly supervisory fee to the probation office of about $40.
- Not committing any further crimes during the probation term.
- Performing a specific number of community service hours (typically 24-80).
- Attending DWI education classes and meeting with victims of DWI tragedies.
- Abstaining from alcohol and staying away from environments where alcohol is served.
- Submitting to breath tests, upon request.
- Paying non-probated fines and court fees.
- Installing an alcohol ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
- Making a small donation to M.A.D.D. and/or Crime Stoppers.
- Remaining within Collin County unless the court gives you special permission to leave.
Do You Need A Lawyer For A Collin County DWI First Offense?
You may have heard that the judge delivers the same offer to first-time DWI offenders in Collin County, regardless of whether they’re self-represented or assisted by a defense attorney. A “standard DUI case” is one without prior convictions, without an accident or injuries associated with it, and without a particularly high BAC.
It’s true you can post bail, plead guilty, or make a plea deal, and (best case scenario) obtain the same results as an attorney. However, there are many more reasons why you still want an attorney for a Collin County DWI first offense.
- Your attorney can find weaknesses in the prosecution’s case to lessen the severity the standard offer.
- Familiarity with local practices, the DA, and the judge can aid in obtaining more leniency in negotiations.
- A standard offer can be refused if you have viable defenses – loopholes only an experienced lawyer knows.
- It’s possible to seek “non-disclosure” of a criminal record after two years, but you must know how.
- A clean record does not speak for itself; you need advocacy from a lawyer to persuade the judge.
BACtrak. How Many Drinks Does It Take to Reach 0.08% BAC? https://www.bactrack.com/blogs/expert-center/35040901-how-many-drinks-does-it-take-to-reach-0-08-bac
NOLO. When Do You Need a Lawyer for DUI/DWI Charge?https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/free-books/beat-ticket-book/chapter8-5.htm
Matador. 7 Countries You Can’t Enter if You Have a DUI https://matadornetwork.com/read/travel-restrictions-dui-countries/
Lawyers.com. Five Things You Need to Know Before Representing Yourself in Your DUI or DWI CASE https://www.lawyers.com/legal-info/criminal/dui-dwi/five-things-you-need-to-know-before-representing-yourself-in-your-dui-or-dwi-case.html
VeryWell Mind. Average Blood Alcohol Content in Men by Weight https://www.verywellmind.com/bac-and-drink-conversions-for-men-by-weight-22481