Blog



18 March
Peveto Law in DWI

What Are the DWI Probation Requirements in Texas?

Probation is a binding agreement between you and the judge where the judge agrees not to send you to jail on a DWI conviction (if you please guilty, for example) in exchange for your agreement to fulfill the terms of your Texas DWI probation. This period of time is called the “probationary period”. It can be up to 2 years on a …

17 March
Peveto Law in DWI

DWI License Surcharges in Dallas or Collin County, Texas

A little known but quite substantial cost of DWI is in the form of surcharges applied by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). If you plead guilty to a Texas DWI charge, you will have to pay an annual surcharge to DPS for three years in the following amounts: First offense driving while intoxicated (DWI) – $1,000 annual surcharge Second or Third DWI – $1,500 …

26 February
Peveto Law in DWI

DWI Intoxication: Understanding the Legal Limit in Texas

DWI Intoxication in Texas/DWI .08 Alcohol level There are two ways a person can be found legally “intoxicated” for a DWI charge in Texas. A legal finding of alcohol intoxication requires proof beyond a reasonable doubt that you were operating a motor vehicle on a public street in Texas while: (1) Not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by …

4 February
Peveto Law in DWI

Ignition Interlock Devices/Deep Lung Device on DWI Probation

An ignition interlock device is a small device (about the size of a cell phone) that is installed in a car that measures a person’s BAC level. If a person blows into the device and it registers a BAC level that is above a certain amount, the car will not start. The driver must also give breath samples during the drive. Who …