Violent Crime Lawyer in Collin County
The stakes are high when you’ve been arrested or charged with a violent crime in Collin County. Violent crimes are the most severely punished in Texas, with the possibility of long imprisonments and steep fines. The mere accusation that you’ve committed a violent crime can cause family and friends to look at you differently, put child custody in jeopardy, or cause the loss of employment.
For the best possible outcome, you need an experienced defense lawyer who knows the Collin County judges, law clerks, plaintiff counsel, and Texas laws. Contact a violent crime lawyer at Peveto Law to put your mind at ease with a free consultation. Andrew Peveto is a nonjudgmental advocate who will provide a compelling defense and fiercely protect your constitutional rights.
Do You Need a Collin County Violent Crime Lawyer?
Violent crimes are unlawful actions using force or the threat of force. Physical contact with a victim is not necessary for the classification of “violence.” Simply possessing a knife, gun, or other potentially deadly weapon is enough to escalate charges against you.
You might need a Collin County violent crime lawyer if you’ve been accused of:
- Assault – Causing someone serious physical or emotional harm through the threat of physical violence.
- Aggravated Assault – Threat of bodily injury while in possession of a gun or deadly weapon.
- Battery – The act of intentionally physically harming someone, which is often combined with assault.
- Domestic Violence – Aggressive acts toward family members, relatives, or close friends.
- Kidnapping – Abducting, restraining, or controlling another person against their will.
- Robbery – Knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly causing harm to another person during a theft.
- Aggravated Robbery – Stealing from another person with the use of force or deadly weapon.
- Sexual Assault – A violent sexual act against an unwilling victim.
Punishments for Violent Crimes in Collin County, Texas
Potential punishments for violent crimes in Texas depend on the level of offense:
- Class C Misdemeanor – The least serious category is punishable by fines up to $500.
- Class B Misdemeanor – Punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine up to $2,000.
- Class A Misdemeanor – Punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $4,000.
- State Jail Felony – Punishable by 180 days to two years in jail and a fine up to $10,000.
- Third-Degree Felony – Punishable by two to 10 years in jail and a fine up to $10,000.
- Second-Degree Felony – Punishable by two to 20 years in jail and a fine up to $10,000.
- First Degree Felony – Punishable by five to 99 years or life in jail and a fine up to $10,000.
- Capital Felony – Punishable by life in prison without chance of parole or the death penalty.
In addition to these serious sentences, the collateral damage of a criminal conviction may include:
- Difficulty keeping or obtaining employment or higher education
- Ineligibility for government or financial aid
- Ineligibility for a professional license
- Difficulty getting mortgage financing
- Loss of child custody or visitation rights
- Denial of a visa, permanent residency, or citizenship
- Inability to travel to nearby countries like Mexico and Canada
- Loss of gun ownership rights
- Temporary loss of voting rights
- Ostracization from family and friends
Assault Defense Lawyer Collin County
Consider some outcomes achieved by Collin County assault defense lawyer Andrew Peveto:
- First Degree Felony Assault – Case dismissed on the eve of trial.
- Class A Misdemeanor Violent Assault – Reduced to Class C ticket with deferred adjudication and a $400 fine, which was ultimately dismissed.
- Class B Misdemeanor Assault in a Collin County Bar – Dismissed upon completion of 24 hours of community service and anger management class.
Collin County Domestic Violence Lawyer
As a Collin County domestic violence lawyer, Andrew Peveto gets results:
- Felony Assault on Family Member — Case refiled as misdemeanor assault, with 18 months of deferred adjudication, 40 hours of community service, a $500 fine, and eligibility for a certificate of non-disclosure.
- Class A Misdemeanor for Assault on Member of Plano Household –Reduced to Class B Misdemeanor, 9 months deferred adjudication, 24 hours of community service, and $200 fine.
- Class A Misdemeanor Family Violence –Reduced to Class C simple assault, with no “finding of family violence” on completion of community service and anger management.
- Class A Misdemeanor Assault on McKinney Household Member –Reduced to Class B Misdemeanor, 9 months deferred adjudication, 24 hours of community service, $200 fine, and “no history” of family violence on record.
- Class A Misdemeanor Assault Causing Family Violence in Plano –Reduced to Class C Misdemeanor deferred and $400 fine initially, with case dismissed after 180 days.
Contact Peveto Law for a Strong Defense
The right violent crime lawyer can make a world of difference to your case. You can trust in Peveto Law to construct the strongest legal argument for your defense. It costs you nothing to explore your legal options with an experienced Collin County defense attorney.