Multiple DWI Defense Lawyer in Plano, TX
Results-Driven Plano DWI Attorney
If you are being charged with a second or third offense for driving while intoxicated (DWI), you can be facing multiple years in jail as well as thousands of dollars in fines. Any DWI charge is an extremely serious matter and choosing the right defense lawyer can be the critical difference between a conviction and an acquittal. At Peveto Law, our Plano DWI attorney has a proven track record of helping people with previous DWI convictions stay out of jail.
Schedule a free case-evaluation and find out how we can fight for you.
Penalties for Multiple DWI Offenses in Texas
In Texas, the penalties for multiple DWI offenses can vary greatly depending on the details of your case. In addition to jail time and fines, drivers will also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on any vehicle they operate. An IID switch prevents a vehicle for operating if any alcohol is detected on the breath of the driver.
A second offense DWI is normally charged as a class “A” misdemeanor and can carry a jail sentence of 30 days to 1 year and up to $4,000 in fines. A third offense DWI is normally charged as a third degree felony and can carry a jail sentence of 2 to 10 years in jail and fines of up to $10,000. Charges for any DWI conviction may be increased if bodily injury occurred or if a child less than 15 years of age was present in the vehicle of the impaired driver.
Administrative License Suspension
Individuals arrested for DWI can request an administrative hearing through the Texas Department of Public Safety and challenge a license suspension. This is a civil hearing and separate from any criminal charges or penalties that you may face. You have only 15 days to request an administrative hearing to contest a license suspension.
Drivers who are allowed to retain their licenses will be required to pay an annual fee, known as a surcharge, which can be up to $2,000 per year depending on the severity of the crime. If you do not request this hearing, the suspension of your license will go into effect approximately 40 days from the notification of suspension.
Build a Powerhouse Defense – Call 972-339-8033
If you are being charged with a second or third DWI offense, it is vital to retain the services of our Plano DWI lawyer at Peveto Law. Our lead attorney has maintained a perfect 10/10 “Superb” Avvo rating which underscores his commitment to clients as well as his ability to deliver results in the courtroom. Our firm has more than a decade of experience helping people in your position and comes highly rated by past clients. We will do everything in our power to uphold your rights and protect your freedoms.
Contact us today and talk to a lawyer about your case for FREE.