How Much is a DWI Fine in Texas?
Texas law treats driving while intoxicated (DWI) very severely. Even if your DWI is a first offense, you can be fined up to $2,000 and ordered to pay additional state fines of $3,000 when you are sentenced. For second and third offenses, you can be fined $4,000 to $10,000 with additional state fines of between $4,500 and $6,000 upon sentencing.
If you are facing a DWI charge in the Dallas-Forth Worth/Plano metropolitan region, a Plano DWI defense lawyer at Peveto Law can help you to fight those charges and possibly mitigate the fines.
Remember that DWI fines are only one of the many adverse consequences you can face when you are arrested and charged with driving under the influence. Even a first DWI offense in Texas can lead to:
- jail terms of up to 180 days
- loss of your driver license for up to one year
- increased car insurance premiums
- reduced credit ratings and possible adverse employment prospects
Your situation will be worse if your record shows multiple DWI offenses in Texas or if any children were passengers in your vehicle when you were arrested and charged.
Contact us today
The DWI lawyers at the Peveto Law Offices represent clients in Plano and throughout Collin County who are facing Texas DWI charges. Please see our website or call us before you risk your freedom, your finances, and your future by attempting to resolve DWI charges without independent legal representation.