First Offense DWI in Plano, Texas
Award-Winning Plano Criminal Defense
A first offense for driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious matter with the potential to permanently mark your criminal record. If convicted of DWI, you can face criminal and administrative penalties such as jail time, fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license. Having a conviction on your record may also drastically affect the type of job you can hold in the future.
If you have been charged with a first offense DWI, or if you have multiple DWI convictions, the best thing you can do may be to hire a hard-hitting DWI lawyer from Peveto Law. Not every DWI charge ends in a conviction and our firm can help to increase your chances of a favorable outcome. We have a proven track record of defending against DWI charges and the earlier you get us involved, the more quickly we can help. Do not hesitate to contact us today.
Still not convinced? Read what our clients have to say about us.
Penalties for a First Offense DWI
In Texas, a person is considered legally intoxicated if they (1) have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher or (2) have impaired mental faculties due to a controlled substance or another drug. A first offense DWI is normally charged as a class “B” misdemeanor and carries a minimum jail sentence of three days. Felony charges can apply when DWI results in serious bodily injury or an intoxicated person drove with a child under the age of 15. Individuals convicted of a first offense DWI are not automatically required to install an ignition interlock device (IID), however this is mandatory for those with multiple offenses.
Punishments for a first offense include:
- Up to $2000 in fines
- Suspension of a driver’s license for a minimum of 90 days
- Up to 180 days in jail
Am I Able to Retain my Driver’s License?
Driving is a privilege, not a right, and it can be taken away in the case of legal infractions such as DWI. For a first offense DWI, you have approximately 15 days from the time of your arrest to request a hearing to contest a license suspension. If you are eligible to retain your license, you may be subject to a yearly surcharge of $1000 for three years. This surcharge can increase to $2000 depending on the severity of your offense. Our law firm can provide you with the legal resources and counsel to assist you in maintaining your driving privileges.
Do Not Let DWI Tarnish Your Record
When facing DWI charges, it is vital to get a Plano DWI lawyer from Peveto Law involved as soon as possible. Our lead attorney has nearly a decade of experience helping clients avoid harsh criminal penalties and can handle even the most complex cases. We know that you are innocent until proven guilty and our firm strives to provide unbiased and compassionate legal advocacy. Call us today at 972-339-8033.
Schedule a free consultation and talk to a lawyer about your case.