How Much Marijuana is a Felony in Texas?
Texas has some of the strictest drug laws in the country. Having just a few ounces of marijuana can result in steep fines and incarceration– without the guidance of an experienced Dallas marijuana possession lawyer. The severity of the penalty depends on how much of the substance is in your possession. Anything less than 4 ounces is classified as a misdemeanor, and a conviction can carry fines of up to $4,000.
How much marijuana is a felony? Again, it all comes down to the weight. If you are caught with anything between 4 ounces and 5 pounds of marijuana, this is considered a state jail felony. A conviction can cost $10,000 in fines and land you behind bars for up to 2 years.
The penalties for possessing even small quantities are unforgiving in the Lone Star state. If you are facing felony charges in Texas, your first call should be to Peveto Law Office. With so much at stake, it’s important to hire a drug possession lawyer who has a proven track record of success.
Our initial consultation is free and an excellent opportunity to explore your options for building a solid criminal defense. If you live in Plano or the Dallas-Fort Worth area—we are ready to advocate for your rights.