Plano Criminal Defense Attorney

Blog Posts in March, 2016

  • You Can Refuse a Breathalyzer Test, But Not a Blood Warrant

    You have the right NOT to incriminate yourself under the 5 th Amendment of the United States Constitution, meaning you cannot be compelled to “dig your own ditch”-so to speak-by the police. Therefore, you can (and probably should) refuse to take the breath test if you have had more than a couple of drinks and don’t know if you will pass. The best excuse to give the police is to tell them (and the ...
    Continue Reading
  • What Are the DWI Probation Requirements in Texas?

    Probation is a binding agreement between you and the judge where the judge agrees not to send you to jail on a DWI conviction (if you please guilty, for example) in exchange for your agreement to fulfill the terms of your Texas DWI probation. This period of time is called the “probationary period”. It can be up to 2 years on a Texas DWI first offense , but at Peveto Law , we routinely do much ...
    Continue Reading
  • DWI License Surcharges in Dallas or Collin County, Texas

    A little known but quite substantial cost of DWI is in the form of surcharges applied by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). If you plead guilty to a Texas DWI charge, you will have to pay an annual surcharge to DPS for three years in the following amounts: First offense driving while intoxicated (DWI) - $1,000 annual surcharge Second or Third DWI - $1,500 annual surcharge DWI with BAC > ...
    Continue Reading
  • DWI License Consequences for Adults & Minors in Texas

    Drivers License Suspensions following a DWI Arrest In Texas, you will lose your driver's license if you fail or refuse to take the Breath Test The only question is, "for how long?" The answer depends on two things: (1) your age, and (2) whether you failed or refused to take the Breathalyzer Test. FOR ADULTS (21 and up) If you failed the Breathalyzer Test (blew .08 or above), you will lose your ...
    Continue Reading
Page 1 of 1