A Texas misdemeanor charge can ruin your life – especially if it turns into a conviction. Many Class A Misdemeanor and Class B Misdemeanor charges carry serious repercussions if you plead guilty – even if you get deferred adjudication. These consequences are often a trap for those that don’t hire a good attorney or who represent themselves.
Types of Misdemeanor Charges. Texas misdemeanors charges are grouped into Class A Misdemeanors, Class B Misdemeanors, and Class C Misdemeanors. A conviction on a Class A misdemeanor charge or Class B misdemeanor charge will stain your criminal record forever – making it difficult to find gainful employment. A Class C Misdemeanor charge can stay on your record as well if you are convicted. At the very least, you want to make sure that your attorney is looking into whether your misdemeanor charge is eligible for deferred adjudication, a charge reduction, or pretrial diversion so you can later have the charge cleared from you record through expungement or non-disclosure.
|Texas Misdemeanor Charges||Fine max.||Imprisonment max.|
|Class A misdemeanor charges||Up to $4,000||Up to 1 year in jail|
|Class B misdemeanor charges||Up to $2,000||Up to 180 days|
|Class C misdemeanor charges||Up to $500||None (fine only)|
Misdemeanor Texas Attorney – Andrew Peveto of Peveto Law
If you are charged with a Class A Misdemeanor or Class B Misdemeanor in Collin County or Dallas, your future is at stake. You owe it to yourself to consult with a qualified local defense attorney with a great reputation, vast knowledge of Texas misdemeanor laws, and many years experience defending misdemeanor charges in Dallas, McKinney, Denton and Fort Worth.
At Peveto Law, no stone goes unturned in providing you with the best possible criminal defense following your misdemeanor arrest. At Peveto Law, we pride ourselves on communication and excellent results – see our client reviews on Google Places, Avvo.com, and Yahoo Local. Contact Us to schedule a free consultation at (972) 339-8033 or submitting our online form.