Plano Texas minors caught in possession of alcohol can face stiff legal penalties. This offense is a Class “C” misdemeanor punished by a fine not to exceed $500.00. However, if a minor has 2 prior convictions, the punishment is a fine of not less than $250.00 or more than $2,000.00 and/or confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 6 months! And depending on how the minor has come into possession of the alcohol can affect how the Collin County District Attorney files charges. The most popular ways that minors get alcohol is from a family member(s), older friends, or even by using a fake ID. All of those ways cause problems and consequences for all parties involved.
When minors are caught with fake IDs, they can face anything from a low class C misdemeanor to a higher third degree felony. Establishments that serve minors are not held accountable so long as the minor falsely represents himself to be 21 years old or older.
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code,Title 4, Chapter 106, Section 106.03 (b),does provide a loophole for bar owners who serve minors with a fake, it’s not a big loophole.
A person who sells a minor an alcoholic beverage does not commit an offense if the minor falsely represents himself to be 21 years old or older by displaying an apparently valid proof of identification that contains a physical description and photograph consistent with the minor’s appearance, purports to establish that the minor is 21 years of age or older, and was issued by a governmental agency.
If you’re the minor with a fake id in Plano, you could face anything from a low class C misdemeanor to a higher third degree felony. That means anything from a maximum $500 fine for underage drinking to maximum $10,000 fine with two to 10 years of imprisonment in a state penitentiary. It just depends upon the case, your profile and whether or not you would make a good example (Collin County District Attorney likes to make examples).
If you were arrested for a MIP in Plano, you should become aware of your chances of beating the case – and the damage a conviction can do to your criminal record. Contact Collin County attorney Andrew Peveto today for a free consultation at (972) 339-8033.